Pickled Onions

Red onion slices

Image via Wikipedia

 

 

  1. In a small pot or saucepan, combine vinegar, water, sugar, spices and seasoning. Bring to a simmer over medium heat.
  2. Peel onion and thinly slice in rounds. Add to hot spiced vinegar and cook gently for a minute or so.
  3. Remove pan from heat and allow to cool. Transfer to a small glass jar, top with lid and refrigerate until ready to use.
  4. Pickled onions are ready to use 24 hours after making and will last for several weeks in the refrigerator.
2 thoughts on “Pickled Onions

  1. Pingback: The Power of an Onion « mytopweightloss

  2. From time to time I like to make pickled eggs, because I raise chickens and it helps use up the extras! Anyway, I use red onions and one seeded red jalapeno in the mix. My husband refuses to eat the onions, but I don’t mind because that just means more for me! I will have to try this recipe because I love pickled onions so much. Thanks!
    ~ Lynda

Leave a Reply

