Homemade Hand Lotion

8 thoughts on “Homemade Hand Lotion”

  1. This is the recipe I started making my body lotions from. I only used 1 1/2 cup of water and the consistence was perfect as for my taste 🙂
    Thank you for the pinback to my blog post!

  2. Thanks for the ping back on my post too! So funny to see Polish Mom Photographer on here as well. Our little circles are starting to interconnect. It’s so much fun. I will most certainly try this. We’re trying to get away from buying soaps and just making them. My next try is Polish Mom’s “no poo” where she washes her scalp with baking soda. Or was it powder? I better find out before I try it because I have one pinch of shampoo left and I’m done!
    Thanks again. I always learn so much from your posts suburbhomestead!! You’re SO AWESOME!!

      1. @Polish mom–thanks for that! I’m out of shampoo this week and have to try it. I’m so nervous!

    1. For the best result after you rins it with water do the same (as with baking soda) with apple cider vinegar (or lemon juice). massage it into your skalp and let it sit for 1 minute. than rins it with water… .
      Some people skip that vinegar part but for me it works great as a conditioner and my hair is not tangled. if I don’t use it my hair tend to tangle. You give it a try, or skip it… . your choice. I know that many people hate the smell of vinegar (like my husband) and they would never do that. I understand. 🙂

      1. Does the vinegar smell eventually go away? My husband uses it after a shave but then he gets in the shower. In the hair….I don’t know. How long does it take to fade?

  3. Thank you for the recipe! I am leaving this note for novice like me who wants to give it a try.
    I did not see any emulsification after mixing the oil/beeswax and water. Then I whisked it for a about 5 mins and ended up with beautiful emulsion. I also added about 1/8th tsp of local honey to it while whisking.

Leave a comment