Conestoga Steak House Rolls

Yeast

Yeast (Photo credit: eddie.welker)

 

  • 1 package champagne yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 4 cups (50:50 mix) bread flour:pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup vanilla castor sugar
  • 1 1/2 sticks melted butter
  1. Add yeast to water and let it bloom. Maybe I was having a slow day in the kitchen. But I stood over the bowl and watched it after I put the yeast in the water. Now I’ve “bloomed” plenty of yeast. But I’ve never watched the whole process. First, a few bubbles appear. Then a few more. Then, the whole thing takes off like it’s a mole digging underground. It’s the coolest thing. Glad I watched it.
  2. Add remaining ingredient to the bowl, after the yeast has bloomed, adding flour last. Mix and pour into greased muffin tins. I made 20 rolls out of this batch.
  3. This doesn’t make a light and airy yeast roll. It’s a little bit denser but has a great taste.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Pass the butter.